the camp

2011 schedule

Sunday: June 19

5:00pm - 7:00pm: Opening Banquet (Schedule and Keynote)

Week 1: Web Programming

Instructors: Shereen Khoja and Maria Walters, Teacher: Amy Haberman

Monday: June 20

Arrive: 9:30am
Introductions, general computer science concepts.
Depart: 3:30pm

Tuesday: June 21

Arrive: 9:30am
Internet, binary routing, social media.
Depart: 3:30pm

Wednesday: June 22

Arrive: 9:30am
Science concepts, OMSI Imagineering Traveling Program.
Depart: 3:30pm

Thursday: June 23

Arrive: 9:30am
Field trip to Vernier.
BTC: 3:30pm
HTC: 3:35pm
Pacific: 4pm

Friday: June 24

Arrive: 9:30am
Design T-shirts, Internet, HTML.
Depart: 3:30pm

Week 2: Robotics

Instructor: Pamela Harrison, Teacher: Lyn Philiben

Monday: June 27

Arrive: 9:30am
Lego Mindstorm Robots.
Depart:/strong> 3:30pm<

Tuesday: June 28

Arrive: 9:30am
Field trip to OPB (morning), Robotics.
Depart: 3:30pm

Wednesday: June 29

Arrive: 9:30am (Overnight Trip)
Field Trip to Hatfield Marine Science Center.

Thursday: June 30

Tide Pooling, Field trip to Newport Aquarium.
Depart: 5:00pm

Friday: July 1

Arrive: 9:30am
Lego Mindstorm Robots.
Depart: 3:30pm

Week 3: Programming

Instructor: Gayathri Iyer, Teacher: Diann Espinoza

Monday: July 4

HOLIDAY: No Camp

Tuesday: July 5

Arrive: 9:30am
Programming in Alice.
Depart: 3:30pm

Wednesday: July 6

Arrive: 8:30am
Field trip to OMSI and Galois.
BTC: 4:00pm
HTC: 4:35pm
Pacific:5pm

Thursday: July 7

Arrive: 9:30am
Programming in Alice.
Depart: 3:30pm

Friday: July 8

Arrive: 9:30am
Programming in Alice.
Depart: 3:30pm

Week 4: Hardware

Instructor: Stevie Viaene, Teacher: Robin Stalcup

Monday: July 11

Arrive: 9:30am
Field trip to Intel.
Depart: 4:00pm

Tuesday: July 12

Arrive: 9:30am
Take apart old hardware.
Depart: 3:30pm

Wednesday: July 13

Arrive: 9:30am
Build computers.
Depart: 3:30pm

Thursday: July 14

Arrive: 9:30am
Build Computers.
Depart: 3:30pm

Friday: July 15

Arrive: 1:00pm
Work on presentations, concluding reception (starts at 7:00pm).
End: 9:00pm

Notes

* All plans are subject to change.
 
** Arrive indicates time students need to be at Pacific University and Depart indicates the time the students will leave Pacific University.
 
BTC: Beaverton Transit Center
HTC: Hillsboro Transit Center
 
Download Printable PDF of Schedule »
Oregon Public Broadcasting Pacific University: Berglund Center for Internet Studies Oregon Public Broadcasting